EBIOS - (3Days)


In this three-day intensive, the course participants develop the competence to master the basic risk management elements related to all assets of relevance for information security using EBIOS method. The EBIOS method (Expression des Besoins et Identification des Objectifs de Sécurité) was developed by ANSSI in France. Based on practical exercises and case studies, participants acquire the necessary knowledge and skills needed to perform an optimal information security risk assessment and manage risks in time by being familiar with their life cycle. This training fits perfectly in the framework of an ISO/IEC 27001:2005 standard implementation process.


Who should attend?

  • Risk managers
  • Persons responsible for information security or conformity within an organization
  • Member of the information security team
  • IT consultants
  • Staff participating in the activities of risk assessment with the EBIOS method


Learning objectives

  • To understand the concepts, approaches, methods and techniques allowing an effective management of risk according to EBIOS method
  • To develop the necessary skills to conduct a risk assessment with the EBIOS method
  • To master the steps to conduct a risk assessment with the EBIOS method
  • To interpret the requirements of ISO 27001 on information security risk management
  • To understand the relationship between the information security risk management, the security controls and the compliance with the requirements of different stakeholders of an organization
  • To acquire the competence to implement, maintain and manage an ongoing information security risk management program
  • To acquire the competence to effectively advise organizations on the best practices in information security risk management

Course Agenda

Day 1: Conduct of a risk assessment with EBIOS

  • Presentation of EBIOS
  • Phase 1 - Context establishment
  • Phase 2 - Feared security event analysis
  • Phase 3 - Threat scenarios analysis

Day 2: Completing a risk assessment with EBIOS

  • Phase 4 - Risk analysis
  • Phase 5 - Determination of security controls
  • Workshop with case studies

Day 3: Workshop with case studies and EBIOS exam

  • Workshop with case studies
  • EBIOS Advanced exam (3 hours)


  • A basic knowledge of risk management is recommended

Educational approach

  • This training is based on both theory and practice:
    - Sessions of lectures illustrated with examples based on real cases
    - Practical exercises based on case studies including role playing and oral presentations
    - Review exercises to assist the exam preparation
    - Practice test similar to the certification exam
  • To benefit from the practical exercises, the number of training participants is limited

Examination and Certification

  • The “EBIOS Advanced” exam fully meets the requirements of the PECB Examination Certification Program (ECP). The exam covers the following competence domains:
        • Domain 1: Fundamental principles and concepts in information security risk management according to EBIOS
        • Domain 2: Information security risk management program based on EBIOS
        • Domain 3: Information security risk assessment based on EBIOS
        • Domain 4: Information security risk treatment based on EBIOS
        • Domain 5: Information security risk communication, monitoring and improvement based on EBIOS
  • The “EBIOS Advanced” exam is available in different languages (the complete list of languages can be found in the examination application form)
  • Duration: 3 hours
  • For more information about the exam, refer to PECB section on ISO/IEC 27005 Risk Manager Exam
  • A certificate will be issued to the participants who successfully pass the exam

General information

  • Exam and certification fees are included in the training price
  • A copy of the official software and documentation on EBIOS published by ANSSI is given to the participants together with a student manual containing over 250 pages of information and practical examples
  • A participation certificate of 21 CPD (Continuing Professional Development) credits is awarded to participants
  • In case of failure of the exam, participants are allowed to retake the exam for free under certain conditions.